Food Fest

Yeah, this weekend was pretty much a food fest.  It’s a good thing there is only one 4oJ!  Since 4oJ was on Saturday this year it sort of carried over into the 5th, making even more food events possible.  So here is a quick recap of the 4th and 5th.  Jennifer did a great post on our 4th at the Peachtree Road Race – check it out here.  I do want to post a few pictures that she had up. 

This was the view of Atlanta the night before the race from our window:

july 03 021

PRR 004

And what a beautiful sunset!

And here’s a view of the beginning of the race.

PRR 036

Emily and her friend Erin post race:

PRR 031

Jennifer post race:

PRR 033

We went back to hotel and had a wonderful breakfast buffet.

IMG_1572

The buffet was such an assortment of foods and also a chef was there making omelettes, so I put a little of everything on my plate.  Of course, this makes this post look like a “hog blog” instead of a food blog.  Since this is only a once a year thing I think it’s okay.  I had walked a lot getting to and back from the 6 mile spot where I cheered my girls on.  So I figured I could splurge on breakfast.  

Here’s a picture of my girls after breakfast, freshly showered about to leave the hotel and head back home for some R&R until our picnic with friends at 5:00.

  PRR 045

Our after race picnic with friends was such a nice ending to 4oJ festivities, complete with setting off lots of beautiful fireworks together.  These pictures are of some of the items to choose from – gotta love that picnic food!

IMG_1579

 

IMG_1576

And a delicious berry cobbler.

IMG_1577

Two more picnics on the 5th – one at 1:00 and one at 6:00 – we can do it!

6 responses to “Food Fest

  1. Looks and sounds like you had a great weekend. I laughed at the “hog blog” comment. That’s how we felt this weekend. And we enjoyed every bite. Congrats to your girls for participating in the race!!

  2. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    It was a fun Fourth!

  3. wow what a breathtaking view! I’m glad to hear you had such a wonderful holiday weekend 🙂

  4. That sunset picture is gorgeous!!!! Thanks again for emailing me that cookie recipe!

    • I love that picture too. You are so welcome and I know you’ll enjoy the cookies. They were so good. I’m making them again real soon!

Leave a Reply

