Whatdya Have?

There’s a place in Atlanta called the Varsity – an icon of Atlanta actually.  They are famous for the chili dogs, onion rings and frosted oranges.  It would most likely NOT be a place a food blogger would go – but that’s the standard question you get when you order – whatdya have?  That’s kind of what this meal was about – what did I have on hand that I needed to get cook before it was too old.  So, we had some chicken quarters that were 99 cents a pound at Kroger, some cabbage I’d had for about a month (cabbage stays good a long time thankfully), some potatoes from the Farmer’s Market, some onions and spices.  I baked this all up together in the oven and the juices from the chicken flavored the cabbage, potatoes, and onions so nicely. 

IMG_1437

I cook in this old cast iron skillet everyday – cast iron is just the best.  I have three of them that are different sizes and passed down to me from my husband’s grandmother.  They are seasoned so well that you hardly have to use any oil in the pan – things just don’t stick much.  Also, the cast iron distributes the heat so well that everything cooks up so nicely.  Before my healthy eating days I would make some fantastic cornbread in them!  Another great thing about cast iron skillets is that they go from stove top to oven with no problem.  That’s how the chicken was cooked.  It started out on the stove where I browned it in just a tiny bit of olive oil, then I added the cabbage, onions, juice of one lemon, and potatoes.  I seasoned it well with oregano, garlic, and rosemary, and then popped it into the oven on 350 for an hour and a half.  I did leave the skin on the chicken which I know isn’t as healthy, but it makes the chicken so much more flavorful and juicy.  I take the skin off before I eat it which maybe helps a little. 

IMG_1438

You can see I had a little bit of a Vidalia onion on the side with some yellow squash that also needed to get cooked.  What a great summer meal.

Later tonight I’m going to have some reduced fat blueberry cream pie ice cream.  I got it at Publix last night and have been waiting until tonight to taste it.  I’m even going to put some of my fresh blueberries on top to give it some extra blueberry yumminess.  You can tell I already have it planned out and am waiting…

4 responses to “Whatdya Have?

  1. As much as I would love to have a chili cheese dog and fries from the Varsity, I don’t think my tummy could handle it anymore!! Does sound good though…

    Enjoy your ice cream! 🙂

  2. Mmm Varsity food sounds good… stop making me think about it!

  3. what a gorgeous dinner you prepared 🙂 enjoy your ice cream tonight!! I am definitely craving blueberries right now!

Leave a Reply

