Party Time – Updated!

Tonight we are going to Emily’s beautiful home to celebrate her 26th birthday.  My sister, neice, and nephew, from California has been visiting.  It has been so good to see them!  So they will be there along with my mom and dad.  I’m taking the food – it will actually all be homemade because my daughter is the queen of homemade.  She doesn’t really like to go out to eat as you can see if you check out her blog homecookedem.  So tonight it’s homemade potato salad, baked beans and other all American picnic food.  I’ll post pictures of that when we get home tonight.  In the mean time, breakfast was cold cereal with a banana sliced on top and 1/2 cup of skim milk.  Not real exciting but at least I did eat breakfast!

June 25 2009

My sister, niece, nephew, mom, and dad came up to visit and swim today,  then we could all go over to Emily’s for her birthday celebration.  Her birthday isn’t until Sunday, so we’re a few days early, but scheduling wise this was the best day to celebrate it.  Here’s a picture of everyone at the pool.

Melissa, Paul, Lila, Mom

Melissa, Paul, Lila, Mom

Lunch was leftovers.  We just pulled everything out of the refrigerator that we had leftover from the past week.  My mom brought up her leftover too.  We just put it all together and ended up with a feast.  Since it was such a hodgepodge of stuff, and mostly things I had already taken pictures of, I didn’t bother taking pictures. 

While the swimmers were at the pool I worked on making Amber Ale beans and finishing up the potato salad.  They both turned out to be really good.  Here’s a blurry picture I took with Jennifer’s camera.  I obviously don’t know how to use it.

emily's birthday 007[1]

  Andrew grilled the burgers, hot dogs, and brats.  Mom brought watermelon.  It was a true All American summer meal.  The hamburgers were the BEST – I hadn’t had a home grilled burger in a long time.  Andrew cooked them perfectly – thanks Andrew!  The birthday girl asked for a cookies and cream cake so I found a recipe (thanks Kaitlyn in the Kitchen!), gave Jennifer and Morgan the ingredients and let them make one.  It was SOOOOOO good!  Jennifer pictures of them making the cake posted on her blog today.  You can see them here.  So we sang Happy Birthday to Emily and had cake and ice cream. It was such a fund day of family and good food.   Happy 26th birthday Emily – I love you!!!!!!!!

girls night 010

4 responses to “Party Time – Updated!

  1. Thanks for bringing all of the yummy food to my birthday party!!!!! I had a great time! Love you!!!!!!!! 😉

  2. I had a great time – your house is so warm and inviting! I’m glad you enjoyed!!!!!

  3. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    That’s a cute picture from the pool. Glad I wasn’t in it!

    • It was a cute picture. Lila and Paul are so precious. I enjoyed visiting with them so much. I wish we could see them more often. Lila will most likely have forgotten me by the next time we get togther :(.

Leave a Reply

