So It’s Sunday!

And for me Sunday means church.  I teach/academic coach at an elementary school, but I also work as the Director of Music at a church.  Everyone always assumes that because I direct a choir that I sing well – well I don’t sing well.  Yeah, I can carry a tune, but I do not sing well.  I always wanted to be able to, but I can’t.  I can play the flute pretty well still, and would be even better if I ever practiced.  (Yes, I was a band nerd.)  But I unfortunately I can’t sing well.  So anyway, Sunday means going to church and directing the choir.  It also means that I didn’t have time for a nice leisurely breakfast which I have already (in four days) gotten used to having.  So it was a chocolate peppermint Lara Bar which is actually pretty good and filling. 

After church I had a repeat meal from a few days ago, a tuna wrap with grapes and a 100 calorie pack of Baked Cheetos.  I wish I wasn’t such a “chip eater”, I know they are pretty much empty calories, but…I love them!

Here’s lunch:

IMG_1256

Tonight’s supper is going to be Eggplant Rolatini.  I have never made it and am looking forward to it.  I’ve had it at an Italian restaurant in Suwanee called Ippolito’s, but I haven’t made any myself.  Ippolito’s Rolantini is DELISH so mine has a lot to live up to.  I’ll have pictures of the process of making it up through the finished product so check back this evening for that.  I’ll be slicing the eggplant, salting it to take out the bitterness, grilling it, mixing up the cheese mixture, rolling it up while a marinara sauce simmers on the stove.  It’s a Giada recipe.  I love watching Giada cook – I think it’s the Italian in me.  My husband loves watching her cook also…

I have to add fresh basil when I roll up the eggplant so I thought I’d show you a picture of the basil I have growing on my deck.  I’m like a proud mother with my basil this year – I think it is the prettiest I have ever grown. 

IMG_1211

I have thyme, oregano, chives, sage, lemon balm, and Rosemary also growing on my deck.  I’ll share some pictures of them later. And if you didn’t see the pictures of the pesto Jennifer and I made the other day – check out her blog to see the whole process of pesto making from start to finish here.  And don’t forget to check to stop back by later to see the Eggplant Rollatini!

3 responses to “So It’s Sunday!

  1. Ahhhh!!! I wish I lived just a little closer so I could pop on over for dinner!! Eggplant is one of my favorite things ever!! Do you think we could have Kath’s eggplant parmesan next week for Father’s Day when I come over?

    • I wish you lived a little closer too – there were lots of left-overs that I would love to share with you. I think Kath’s eggplant would be the perfect Father’s Day meal!

  2. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    I wish I wasn’t a chip eater, either. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

