Summer Time and the Livin’ is Easy!

Wow – I think I could get used to this life.  I woke up around 8:00 with no alarm clock sound.  I love not having to set an alarm!  I went downstairs and coffee was ready.  I sat out on the deck and leisurely read the paper as I drank my coffee.  I wasn’t real hungry when I first got up, but did have a bowl of  oatmeal with apple cut up in it.  (Being a new food blogger I forgot to take a picture of it.)  It hit the spot and kept me nice and happy until around 1:00 when I decided to eat lunch.  I made tuna salad and put it on a wrap.  I crunched on a 100 calorie bag of Baked Cheetos and enjoyed some antioxidants in the form of some really sweet red grapes. 

June 12 002

David and I ate lunch out on the deck. It was already getting really hot. After lunch I went out and watered my hanging baskets in the back yard.  They really look pretty and I want them to stay that way.  David finished up some work he was doing in the backyard, so we sat out on our back patio for awhile.  A legion of mosquitos were out there with us even though we sprayed some Backyard Fogger.  But then a breeze came up and they seemed to go away.  Sitting out on our back patio is so peaceful – I love it – but we can’t do it very often because of those darn mosquitos.  The breeze that came up was brought by a little thunderstorm.  It only rained a few minutes, but we came in of course.  Now the air is so thick and steamy – a typical Georgia afternoon. 

Jennifer and I did a one mile walk with Leslie Sansone – my walking buddy of Walk Away the Pounds DVD fame.  I know that’s not much to walk, but it’s better than nothing.  Hopefully it will lead to more.  Yeah – my theme for the year is LESS – but with exercise it’s the antonym (are you smarter than a third grader? – actually I think antonyms are introduced in first grade).

This was our supper – Orange-Honey Chicken.

June 12 004

I also made some couscous and sauteed zucchini to go with it.  As always I had my typical salad.  Today I mixed it up a bit by using some low-fat French dressing.  I usually use Greek dressing – I’m walking on the wild side today!  Earlier I cut up a seedless watermelon so I had some of that also.  This is how it looked when I plated it (as they say on the Food Network).

June 12 007

Productivity???  What did I accomplish today?  I got some work done toward the Music Camp I’m in charge of next week.  There will be around 60 kids and 20 staff that will enjoy a week of music and drama.  That and some cooking and watering plants was all I did.  Yeah – I could get used to this life!

3 responses to “Summer Time and the Livin’ is Easy!

  1. That chicken dish looks really yummy!! You and Jennifer eat really delicious looking meals compared to my newlywed cheapo meals. Oh well, glad you’re enjoying the start to your well deserved time off from school!!!

  2. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    I think in a month or so we will need to move up to 2 miles. You’ll be ready by then, as long as we keep doing the 1-mile DVD consistently. Enjoy tomorrow and Saturday, because for the next week you WILL have to set an alarm. Aren’t you glad I reminded you? 😉

Leave a Reply

